Weekly Photo Challenge: Winter

Weekly Photo Challenge: Winter.

Winter here at the moment is pretty unseasonably and boringly warm, not much to report apart from a bit of rain. Last year however was a lot of fun, even though it wasn’t too good for trades, because everyone got snowed in. This picture was taken exactly twelve months ago when there was plenty of snow and it was proper wintry. It was also my first time using a DSLR camera, I didn’t have a clue with what I was doing, you can see the image is out of focus, but I quite like the composition. Since then I’ve amassed a pile of photography books, trawled through many blogs, YouTube videos, websites and forums to teach myself some elementary stuff. Moving forward, my new year’s resolution is to learn how to take a reasonably good picture, therefore your feedback and suggestions of how to improve my techniques are greatly welcomed.

Happy New Year!

26 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Winter

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Winter | Chronicles of Illusions

  2. Are you kidding? This is a great shot! I would crop it a bit to get the background person out and bring the dog a little closer. You can feel the dog’s joy in running. Looking forward to next year’s shots.

  3. I completely agree with Nantuckettiechic, this is a great photo. The composition is spot on. Other amateur photographers might’ve centered on the dog and you didn’t. I agree that a cropping is in order to show a closer look at the dog. Keep taking those photos!

  4. I’m getting sick of this gloomy weather! It’s mad to think that this time last year it was a magical winter wonderland (despite all the disruption!)
    Do you know that I’m in the same position as you were last year C,O,R, as I have just got my first DSRL too! I have had to order a new lens for it and it still hasn’t arrived yet… 😦
    What I like best about your picture is the horizontal strips of white black and greys. Your dog is a good off-centre focal point to the image. He clearly is a dog full of energy and I bet he’s lots of fun!
    I hope you have a great new year C,O,R and I look forward to seeing your picture’s in 2012! Take care πŸ™‚

    • What lens are you waiting for? Hope you haven’t got it off Simply Electronics, you’ll be waiting until the end of next year for the delivery. πŸ™‚ I’m thinking of getting a new lens myself in the new year.

      Happy New Year to you too! Have a good one whatever you’re doing tonight.

      • I’m getting a Cannon 50mm 1.8, I figured it was a good one to start off with… I’m getting it off of Amazon uk, but its just taking a long time to arrive which is a bit of a pain. You also have a good time tonight πŸ™‚

  5. You want photgraphy tips? Here’s one… Don’t let the dog lick the lens! πŸ˜‰ Great composition with action that catches the eye. I’d have photoshopped out the ‘person’ (is it actually a tree stump?) but the rest is great. Happy New Year to you and good luck with the photography in 2012 – I look forward to seeing the results πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

